Banana bread

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Bread, Cooking with kids, Uncategorized

I’m a banana bread fan. I also like to make healthy snacks for the kids, rather than the sugar loaded supermarket alternatives. Banana bread is great to use up those old bananas. They don’t often go brown here, only if they get lost in the fridge. However I always seem to have more than two bananas, which most recipes call for and never enough time. Therefore I want a recipe that mixes it all together. I also wanted bread with minimal sugar and butter and yet still firm enough to toast. So I decided the best way to satisfy my ‘want’ list is to make it up as I went. I’m already wanting to tweak the recipe. I think it would be lovely with some nuts thrown in. I’m sure Mr 3 would also like sultanas. I’m sorry there is no picture. But as mentioned on my facebook site my camera decided to have a meltdown on me and I seriously couldn’t eat any more banana bread. Because once you cut a slice, you have to eat it! So whilst the gloria jeans banana bread is lovely, it’s not something I can whip up with the ingredients on hand in a moments notice.

Banana Bread

Recipe By:
Serving Size: 0
Cuisine:
Main Ingredient: Banana

-= Ingredients =-
4 each Bananas ; peeled
1/2 cup Raw sugar
1 teaspoon Vanilla paste
1 1/4 teaspoon Baking powder
2 each 2 eggs
1/4 cup Butter
2 cup Plain flour
1/4 teaspoon Baking soda
1 splash Milk

-= Instructions =-
Mash bananas with fork until smooth. Combine with all other ingredients and mix until smooth. Pour into a large greased loaf pan. Bake at 170 degrees C for about 45 minutes

Note: – The bread won’t miss it if you leave out the milk, I just added it for a bit of moistness.

Leave a Reply

