Muesli & Muesli Bars and a child that knows what he wants

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Cooking with kids, Slices
Tags: , , , , ,


My son is of an age now where he has no problem in verbalising his wishes. Some would probably hate this stage. I however love it! I love hearing him learn and discover and watching his imagination and personality flourish. We no longer have to sign to him, pull our hair out in frustration or look like a puppeteer gone crazy trying to figure out what he is trying to tell us. No now he just tells us. Like on the weekend when Mr J took him grocery shopping. “Daddy can I have muesli bars?” kids learn from a very young age to play one parent off against the other or is it just that they learn to ask continually until one says yes? Either way he keeps asking. They learn to guilt you young too. “But dad Frankie and Campbell have muesli bars”. The boys come home from shopping and E comes running up the stairs instructing me to make muesli bars for Kindy. I must be the only parent that won’t buy muesli bars for Mr E. I have an aversion for packaged preservative laden food. I have however tried to make muesli bars before, quite unsuccessfully. There was no bar, just a crumbly mess. So today I had to make good on a promise, with the ingredients in my cupboard and make muesli bars for my little man. It was good timing actually because my muesli had also run out and homemade muesli is so good! I’m pleased to announce that my recipe worked! The muesli bars are delicious and I do hope that they are still in supply come Kindy for E’s sake. Otherwise I would be totally uncool!

I made my own muesli with all the below ingredients in the quantities listed, with the exception of golden syrup, butter and sugar, which wasn’t used and rolled oats which I increased to 3 cups. I combined it all. If you prefer toasted just toast the rolled oats, seeds, coconut and nuts before adding the dried fruit. Store in an airtight container. It disappears fast, even Miss 6 months wants to get her mitts on it.

Muesli Bars

Recipe By: My recipe
Serving Size: 4
Cuisine:
Main Ingredient: Rolled oats
Categories: Kid Friendly, Slices

-= Ingredients =-
1 1/4 cups Rolled oats
1/4 cup Pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup Almonds ; flaked
1/4 cup Dried apricots
1/4 cup Dates
1/2 cup Golden syrup
1/4 cup Cranberries
1/2 cup Raw sugar
1 cup Coconut
1/4 cup sultanas
200 gram Butter ; unsalted

-= Instructions =-
Combine rolled oats, seeds, coconut and nuts and toast in 180′ oven until just starting to golden. Mix in dried fruit and set aside.

Grease a baking tray approximately 30cm x 20cm.

Combine butter, golden syrup and sugar in a heavy based saucepan and cook stirring continuously for approximately 8 minutes, until bubbles slow and caramel forms a small ball when dropped in cup of cold water.

Stir caramel mixture into dry mixture quickly. Pour into baking tray, working quickly. Lay baking paper over the top and press down firmly to compress mixture. Allow to cool then slice.

Comments
  1. […] Muesli & Muesli Bars and a child that knows what he wants (itsnotartitsdinner.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

