Thai Green Curry Chicken, with real curry paste

Posted: March 10, 2012 in Chicken, Curry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have a fabulous Asian recipe book that an equally fabulous sister once gave me. I’m sure at the time, she probably just thought, Kat likes to cook, there are pretty pictures, job done. She has no idea just how wonderful a present it has been. It is my ‘go to’ book. In an age where I don’t look at anything that isn’t digital, this is the one book that doesn’t collect dust. What is it? The Complete Cookbook Asian Tasty Recipes for Every Day by Helen Aitken. It makes Asian cooking a breeze and samples the best Asian dishes. I love Asian food. Whether it’s because they use fresh season produce, the food is often light or that our seasons are similar. It inspires my meal plan at least once a week. I, like a lot of people, have been watching My Kitchen Rules. Many of the dishes on there have been Asian. I was particularly inspired by the Thai Green Curry that David and Scott made. I have tried my hand at making various pastes and spice mixtures from scratch before, but never a curry paste. My great mortar and pestle loved this task and I was a little unsure how it would turn out. On MKR they mentioned how hot David and Scott’s curry was. So seeing as I was serving this up to DS3 I thought I best go mild. I took a lot of the heat out of this curry, by removing most of the membrane and seeds from the chillis. Other than that I followed the boys curry paste recipe. Next time I will leave some seeds in, as we still do like some heat. I picked up the galangal from Rusty’s on Friday with the paste in mind. Galangal is like a ginger, but quite red in colour (on the outside). Galangal is one of the secret ingredients in Thai dishes and kaffir lime leaves. I think this dish could put our Thai local out of business 😉

Thai Green Curry Paste

Recipe By: MKR David & Scott
Serving Size: 8
Cuisine: Thai
Main Ingredient: Shrimp paste
Categories: Spicy, Curry

-= Ingredients =-
1 tsp shrimp paste
2 black peppercorns
1/2 tsp coriander seeds
1/4 tsp cumin seeds
2 cm piece galangal ; finely grated
2 tsp salt
2 stalks lemongrass ; trimmed, chopped
5 garlic cloves ; chopped
4 small green Thai chillies ; finely chopped
4 small red Thai chillies ; finely chopped
5 coriander roots ; chopped
2 eschallots, chopped

-= Instructions =-
1. To make curry paste, wrap shrimp paste in foil. Dry-fry foil package in a small frying pan over medium heat for 1 minute each side (this will bring out flavour of shrimp paste). Remove and cool package.

2. Add peppercorns and seeds to same pan. Dry-fry for 3 minutes or until fragrant. Cool. Grind to a powder in a pestle and mortar. Remove and set aside.

3. Place galangal and salt in a pestle and mortar and pound until soft. Add lemongrass and pound until soft. Continue adding garlic, chillies, coriander roots, eschallots, toasted spices and shrimp paste, one ingredient at a time, pounding to combine and soften after each addition.

I used half of the above paste to make Thai Green Curry Chicken.

Thai Green Curry Chicken

Recipe By: Me
Serving Size: 4
Cuisine: Thai
Main Ingredient: Shrimp paste
Categories: Spicy, Curry

-= Ingredients =-
420ml coconut cream (don’t shake the can!)
3 tablespoons thai green curry paste
4 teaspoons palm sugar, grated
2 tablespoons, fish sauce
2 large kaffir leaves finely shredded
500g chicken thighs, sliced
1 medium, sweet potato halved then sliced
1 medium, onion sliced
2 zucchinis, sliced
1 bunch of thai basil, chopped

-= Instructions =-
Place a wok on the stovetop over medium heat. Remove lid from coconut cream and scoop out cream from can. There should be about 1/2 a cups worth. Add to wok and bring to the boil. Add the curry paste, then reduce the heat and simmer for 15 minutes, or until the oil starts to separate from the cream. Add in the palm sugar, kaffir limes and fish sauce. Stir to combine. Add remaining coconut cream. Simmer for five minutes and then add in onion, vegetables and chicken. Cover and cook until chicken is tender and cooked. Stir through thai basil just before serving.

Comments
  1. Yum, I don’t make enough curries. A teacher at work has planted an asian vegie garden and I think he’ll be missing some lemongrass soon!

    • Kat says:

      I can’t wait to get some veggies growing in our yard. It needs a vast amount of work before then. We used to grow lemongrass and Thai basil. I’ve got quite a few curry pastes to try, so will update as I go. Green curry is my favourite though!

  2. […] Thai Green Curry Chicken, with real curry paste (itsnotartitsdinner.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

