Need refreshing? Watermelon & Mint Sorbet

Posted: January 23, 2012 in Dessert, Icecream/sorbet
Tags: , , , ,

I can’t believe it’s taken me until now to discover the icy goodness of sorbet. I have loved ice cream ever since I was pregnant with our daughter and haven’t seemed to have lost my sweet tooth. There is something about sweet ice that sets the taste buds a fire. Much like a margarita does for me on a hot summers day. Watermelon is in season at the moment, so I picked up one at the local food market and some fresh mint came home and made sorbet.

The sugar syrup gives the sorbet texture, stopping it from setting rock hard. I intend to serve ours with some fruit salad. But I can also see it going nicely with some vodka and lemonade. Cheers!

How?

Make some sugar syrup, that is a cup of sugar and two cups of water, stirred on the stove top on low heat until sugar is dissolved. Then bring mixture to the boil for five minutes, or until thickened. Put aside to cool. Purée half a watermelon (1kg) seeds and rind removed, a handful of mint, and a squeeze of lime juice. Refrigerate and then mix as per your ice cream manufacturers instructions.

20120123-205900.jpg

Leave a Reply

