Meatless Monday – Carrot and Zucchini Crepes

Posted: May 23, 2011 in Meatless monday, Uncategorized

I had intended to make a Moroccan pie for dinner tonight with filo pastry. However decided I would wait for the much awaited arrival of my food processor before I attempted it. As I had decided on a meatless dish for dinner, I went searching for something that would be filling, tasty and used ingredients I had. I ended up using Katren’s mum’s recipe for carrot and zucchini crepes. It was a bit of challenge too. As I must admit I have never made crepes before! My little boy was by my side to assist me. Such a great little helper he is. He helped with the stirring, the folding of the crepes and even the grating of the vegies. I won’t miss grating when the processor arrives. I made a couple of changes to this recipe. The tomatoes were a little acidic so I added a teaspoon of sugar to lessen the acid and two carrots as I only had a large zucchini and a tiny one.

Carrot and Zucchini Crepes
Recipe By: Katren’s mum taste forum
Serving Size: 4
Cuisine:
Main Ingredient: Carrots
Categories: Vegetarian, Batters

-= Ingredients =-
~~ Crepes: ~~
1/2 cup wholemeal flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup chopped parsley
1/2 – 3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup water
~~ Sauce: ~~
1/2 tablespoon oil
3 shallots, finely diced ; (or a small brown onion)
1 garlic clove ; crushed
1 – 2 tbsp mixed herbs ; (I use Masterfoods Italian mixed herbs)
425 grams can diced tomatoes
1 – 2 tbsp tomato paste
~~ Filling: ~~
1 tablespoon oil
1 large carrot ; grated
3 medium zucchini ; grated
1/2 onion, grated
2 garlic cloves ; crushed
60 grams cheddar cheese ; grated
60 grams mozzarella cheese ; grated

-= Instructions =-
Sift flour, stir in combined eggs, parsley milk & water (adding more milk if necessary. Stand 1 hour. Cook crepes in a hot greased pan.

Heat oil in medium saucepan, sauté shallots for 2 – 3 minutes then add garlic and herbs & sauté for a further minute. Add tomatoes & paste and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes adding a bit of water if it is too thick. (You want it to be pretty thick though)

Squeeze excess liquid from zucchini. Heat oil over medium heat sauté all ingredients until onion is soft. Remove from heat and stir in cheddar cheese. Divide mixture equally between crepes. Roll up and place in a baking dish just large enough to fit the all. Top with ¾ of the sauce and mozzarella. Bake at 180’C for 20 – 25 minutes or until heated through and cheese is hot and bubbling. Serve with remaining sauce and a green salad.

Leave a Reply

