Sweet and Spicy Chicken Fried Rice

Posted: May 16, 2011 in Chicken, Rice, Stir-fry

Sweet and spicy chicken fried rice was the result of my inability to cook a reasonable quantity of rice. Not a bad thing at all! I hate wastage, so am always trying to utilise all my leftover ingredients and when I saw this recipe, it had my mouth-watering. I love fried rice. My secret ingredient normally is fruit chutney. So it’s great to try something different. I have a plum sauce with chilli in it that I used and also a chilli and garlic/ginger stirfry sauce. If you don’t like hot things you can limit the amount of chilli you put it or alter the base sauce to suit. Kecap manis is a sweet soy sauce and can be found in the asian aisle of the supermarket. Unfortunately the peas I used weren’t great, a bit dehydrated. But you can throw whatever you like into the fried rice. I added some corn and capsicum in addition to the base ingredients.

Sweet and Spicy Chicken Fried Rice
Recipe By: Super Food Ideas June 2007
Serving Size: 8
Cuisine: Asian
Main Ingredient: Rice
Categories: Rice/Risotto

-= Ingredients =-
2 cups long grain rice
6 (750g) chicken thigh fillets ; trimmed thinly sliced
1/4 cup plum sauce
1 tablespoon Thai chilli stir fry paste
1/4 cup peanut oil
2 eggs lightly beaten
100 grams bacon
6 green onions sliced
3 garlic cloves chopped
1 carrot peeled ; finely chopped
2 tablespoons kecap manis
1/4 small chinese cabbage shredded
1/2 cup frozen peas

-= Instructions =-
1. Cook rice and allow to dry overnight preferably.

2. Combine chicken, plum sauce and stir fy paste in a bowl. Cover and refrigerate 2 hours if time permits.

3. Heat wok over medium heat until hot. Drain chicken from marinade. Add two tsps oil to wok. Add half the chicken. Stir fry 2 mins or until sealed. Remove and cook remaining chicken and set aside. Wipe wok out.

4. Reheat wok. Add 2 tsp oil. Add egg and swirl to form a thin omelette. Cook 30 secs or till eggs set . Slide out onto board, roll up and slice.

5. Increase heat to high. Add remaining 1 n half tbsp oil to wok. Add bacon, green onions, garlic and carrot. Stir fry 1 min or until aromatic. Add rice, kecap manic, cabbage and peas. Stir fry for 3-4 mins or until rice is heated. Add chicken and sliced omelette. Cook until heated through.

Comments
  1. […] Sweet and Spicy Chicken Fried Rice « It's not art it's dinner!Description : Sweet and spicy chicken fried rice was the result of my inability to cook a reasonable quantity of rice. Not a bad thing at all! I hate wastage, so am always trying to utilise all my leftover ingredients and when I saw this recipe, …http://itsnotartitsdinner.word .. […]

  2. […] Kat ← Sweet and Spicy Chicken Fried Rice LikeBe the first to like this […]

  3. We had this for dinner tonight and would just like to say it was simply delicious. I also added capsicum as well. The cabbage in the fried rice was new to me but thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely use it again. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Delicious meal. Thank you for sharing.

  5. […] When I moved out of home I remember ringing mum up and asking her for a select few recipes that I just couldn’t live without. This was one. Chilli fried fish from the Womens Weekly Chinese cook book. It must have been published in the eighties but I remember this cookbook with fond memories. The fish was coated in batter before being bathed in a sweet sticky chilli sauce. This dish was all about texture and taste for me. I love the crunch of the fried fish combined with the sticky sweet sauce. Even reheated the next day it is still so good. It may of lost it’s crunch but the sauce permeates the whole of the fish. It’s making me hungry again just thinking about it! I served this meal with the great sweet and spicy chicken fried rice […]

Leave a Reply

