Sunday Roast – Pork With An Asian Twist

Posted: January 16, 2011 in Roast

Sunday seems to be the day for roasts. It’s the one day when everyone is generally home, all the shopping, cleaning, catching up with friends has been done and afternoon naps have been had (if you’re lucky enough!). I’m even all the more happy to cook a roast now that we have a range hood installed. Never before would I attempt to cook a roast in summer! The rangehood takes all the heat out of the kitchen. I never would have willingly cooked a pork roast a few years ago. I just didn’t like the taste of pork. However recently I have come to like it. My favourite roast is lamb, mainly because I love leftover cold roast lamb sandwiches. However I came to love the taste of ‘asian’ pork after trying some ribs. See what you think šŸ™‚ The photo really doesn’t do it justice. I didn’t have our DSLR, just the mobile.

Pork Roast With An Asian Twist
Ingredients
1.8kg pork leg roast with rind
3 cloves garlic, minced
3cm ginger, grated
1/4 cup orange marmalade
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons kecap manis

Instructions: –

Mix all ingredients together to form a marinade. Baste pork in sauce and marinade for 3 hours or less. Preheat oven to 220’C turning down to 180′ C half an hour into cooking time. I follow the rule of 20 mins for every 500g pork. I also added pumpkin to the pan half an hour before it was cooked and put roast potatoes on, in a separate pan.

Roast Potatoes
800g Kipfler potatoes
rosemary
sea salt
olive oil

Parboil potatoes for 5-8 minutes. slice and then toss in oil, rosemary and seasalt. Bake in oven at 180′ until golden and crunchy.

Leave a Reply

