Vintage cheese potato bake

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Tarts & bakes

Last nights meal was based on a need, a need to use up all the leftovers in my fridge. It combined two loves of mine, potato and vintage cheese. On Saturdays we normally eat pizza and I experiment with new flavours. However after reviewing the contents of my fridge I figured there was no room left to store another meal and it was time I reviewed the meal plan. The beauty of my meal plan is, I just drag and drop the meal not needed onto another day of the calendar or delete it. Which is something I may need to do a bit of this week as my husband jets off around the country again. It might be best I ease up on the serving sizes too, unless of course the army drops in.

Vintage Cheese Potato Bake

Recipe By: Me
Serving Size: 8

-= Ingredients =-
4 potatoes
200 gram light sour cream
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon flour
1/2 cup milk
1 onion sliced
4 rashers bacon
400 gram vintage cheese
2 tablespoons of Champagne vinegar
1 Tablespoon of Hot English Mustard
1 Teaspoon of fresh thyme leaves

-= Instructions =-
Parboil potatoes for 6-8 minutes, cool, then slice. Preheat oven to 180’C

Make potted cheese: –
Blend togther the Sour light cream, vinegar, Mustard and thyme leaves, thoroughly fold in the grated cheese. Set aside.

Fry the bacon and onion, add butter. When melted stir through flour and gradually add milk. Add potted cheese mixture to pan and stir through until melted.

Pour some of the sauce into dish (approximately 30cm x 20cm) I use my lasange dish, and add potatoes, layering finishing with sauce on top. Place in moderate oven and cook for approximately 25-30 minutes.

Comments
  1. Heather Ferguson says:

    So different from the normal, plain potato bake that we are used to. The flavors were well combined and very tasty. Will be making this for a friend who always likes her potato bake.

Leave a Reply

