Short on time? Fire up the slowcooker!

Posted: November 24, 2010 in Slow cooking

Tonights dinner was inspired by Uforic Food.  With leftover chorizo, oh how I love chorizo, and cannellini beans in the pantry, I was all set to make a meal full of flavour but light on time.  I scooted home at lunch purely for the purpose of ensuring dinner would be ready when I got home from work.  Roll on to the end of the day, I walked in the door, arms full of bags and dear son, greeted by the warm aroma of roasted pork.   Instantly I knew that my evening had just got that little bit easier.  I didn’t have to stress about having to prepare a meal within 3o minutes, before my son chewed my arm off.   Success!

Perfect Pork Crackling

Before browning the pork I trimmed the fat from the roast, boiled the jug and tipped the boiling water over the rind, before patting it down and putting it in the fridge to dry out.  I then preheated the oven to 240’C and rubbed the rind thoroughly with oil and sea salt.  The secret to perfect crackling is high heat, and the right combination of oil and salt.  It then cooked for about 45 minutes before I served it with the Slow cooked pork roast.

Slow-roasted Pork with Chorizo and Cannellini Beans

-= Ingredients =-
2 kilograms pork shoulder roast
olive ; oil
2 sprigs rosemary
2 chorizo sausages ; sliced
1 cup Chicken stock ;
400 grams can of cannellini beans ; rinsed and drained
1 apple, cut into wedges

-= Instructions =-

  1. Heat a large non-stick frying pan over medium-high heat and rub the pork with a little olive oil and sprinkle generously with salt and     cracked black pepper. Cook the pork, turning occasionally, until browned on all sides. Transfer to a plate.
  2. Fry the chorizo in the pan juices, so that they release their flavours and become slightly crispy (but not too much).
  3. Place pork in your slow cooker, set to low and cook for 5-6 hours.
  4. Twenty minutes before serving, stir in the beans and apple. Cover and continue to cook. Transfer pork to a plate, cover and rest for 10 minutes, then slice. Serve covered with white beans and chorizo.

I served this with steamed carrots and zucchini.  The pan juices are very rich – if you find they are a bit strong – just add some water.  

For more great food inspiration check out Lisa’s Uforic Food – www.uforicfood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

